2018 Asia Road Racing Championship

  • Asia Road Racing Championship Round 2, Australia
  • Supersports 600cc / Asia Production 250cc
  • Date: 22 April, 2018
  • Circuit: The Bend Motorsport Park (4.950 km)

SS600 Race 1 is Finished the Red Flagged Race. A.M. Fadly Takes Flight with the New Ninja 250!

#25 Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman


 As the 2018 FIM Asia Road Racing Championship continues at The Bend Motorsport Park in South Australia for Round 2, Andy Muhammad Fadly is beginning to take flight with the new Kawasaki Ninja 250.

 The Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Racing rider arrived in Australia 10th on the Asia Production 250cc standings, having opened his 2018 campaign with a 10th and 9th placing at Round 1 in Thailand.
 Improvements to the new bike became apparent immediately when Fadly clocked 2'10.950s, the fourth fastest time of the first practice session. It was a solid base for the team to begin crafting their setup strategies.

 Fadly qualified within the 2'09s zone, and earned the right to park his bike seventh on the Asia Production 250cc grid. Ahead of him, fellow Indonesian riders RhezaDanica Ahrens, Mario SuryoAji, AwhinSanjaya, RafidTopanSucipto and M. Faerozi were also dominant in the AP250 class.

 Fadly placed himself third in the group from Lap 1 to Lap 4 but dropped to fourth when AwhinSanjaya began mounting a serious challenge for P3. Fadly also had his hands full with Thailand's AnupabSarmoon who was in the thick of the action.
 However, the much-improved Manual Tech KYT Kawasaki Rider kept his cool in the remaining five laps. As the heat of the competition reached boiling point in the last lap, Fadly continued to pile the pressure on rival AwhinSanjaya and AnupabSarmoon. Awhin eventually overcooked the last corner, crashing out of the race, and leaving the way clear for Fadly to ride into his first podium in the Asia Road Racing Championship with 19'25.995s.
 Ahead of Fadly, RhezaDanica Ahrens and Mario SuryoAji completed the all-Indonesian podium.

 In Race 2, Fadly continued to push the limits of his abilities but after a couple of near-misses towards the middle of the race, had to settle for P5 with 15'10.401s. The Asia Production 250cc Race 2 was red flagged on Lap 8. With only a lap to go, the race was classified as completed.

 Fadly's results from Round 2 had pushed him up from 10th to 6th on the Asia Production 250cc standings with 42 points.

Andy Muhammad Fadly:

 "We made numerous changes from FP1 right through to the qualifying. A new track combined with a new bike equalled a lot of work for the team engineers. Luckily, our strategy worked out for the best.
 Race 1 was really tough, fighting with both Awhin and Anupab. But I had confidence in my bike and I knew my limits. I kept strategizing how I could continue to stay ahead of the other two riders. I was pretty satisfied with P3 because it was my first ever podium in the ARRC and that meant a lot to me.
 Race 2 did not quite so as planned. I had some problems with the engine, and also made a few mistakes. In all, it had been a satisfactory outing for me here in Australia but there is still a lot of catch up to do if I want to challenge the class leaders."

Katsuaki Fujiwara, Team Coach:

 "Fadly had improved so much within the span of a single round. He really understands the characteristics of the new bike now, and had been giving good feedback to the engineers for the bike setup. Even though he was often out there, the only Kawasaki in the top-10, he continued to race with his head and I am confident that he will keep improving from this point onwards."

  • #108 Andy Muhammad Fadly
  • #108 Andy Muhammad Fadly
  • #33 H A Yudhistira  #25 Azlan Shar Kamaruzaman


Race 2

Pos. No. Rider Machine
1 76 Yuki Ito Yamaha
2 56 Ratthapong Wilairot Yamaha
3 32 Md Ramdan Rosli Yamaha
4 88 Keisuke Kurihara Honda
5 64 Keminth Kubo Yamaha
6 27 Andi Farid Izdihar Honda
7 20 Azroy Hakeem Anuar Honda
8 127 Kasma Daniel Kasmayudin Yamaha
9 40 Joseph Francis Yamaha
10 25 Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman Kawasaki
11 33 Ahmad Yudhistira Kawasaki
12 92 Md Muzakkir Mohamed Yamaha
13 66 Muhammad Ibrahim Norrodin Kawasaki
14 39 Scott Nicholson Suzuki
15 80 Md Afiq Azmi Yamaha
16 123 Passawit Thitivararak Honda
17 23 Taiga Hada Honda

2018 Asia Road Racing Championship Standings

Page Top